Who We Are Now

Our Board Members

IPAW is proud of the fact that its Board of Directors have a diverse natural resource management background. The Board represents all geographic areas of Wisconsin. If you are interested in serving as a Board member or volunteer, please contact us.

Kari Hagenow, President

Contact: Kari Hagenow
Specialty: Wetland and Terrestrial Invasive Plant Management and Invasive Species Partnerships
Location: Sturgeon Bay

Christa Schaefer, Vice President

Contact: Christa Schaefer
Specialty: Development of Roadside Maintenance Policies, Sustainable and Landscape Design
Location: Madison

Mark Renz, Treasurer

Contact: Mark Renz
Specialty: Invasive Plant Research and Management
Location: Madison

John Lunz, Secretary

Contact: John Lunz
Specialty: Habitat Restoration and Invasive Weed Control
Location: Glendale

Steve Bertjens

Contact: Steve Bertjens
Specialty: State Biologist
Location: Madison
608-662-4422 ext. 267

Greg Bunker

Contact: Greg Bunker
Specialty: Environmental Issues for Tribes
Location: Bowler

Nisa Karimi

Contact: Nisa Karimi
Specialty: Plant Ecology and Evolution, Land Management and Habitat Restoration
Location: Madison

Heidi Kennedy

Contact: Heidi Kennedy
Specialty: Regulations and Administrative Processes
Location: Delafield

Anne Pearce

Contact: Anne Pearce
Specialty: Education/Outreach and Terrestrial Invasive Species
Location: Madison

Jessica Roloff

Contact: Jessica Roloff
Specialty: Shoreline Management, Environmental Permitting and Invasive Plant Management
Location: Green Bay

Diane Schauer

Contact: Diane Schauer
Specialty: Wetland and terrestrial invasive species
Location: Brillion

Katherine Stahl

Contact: Katherine Stahl
Location: Elk Mound

Director Emeritus

Jerry Doll

Our Program Assistant

Chrissy Bartelme, IPAW Program AssistantChrissy Bartelme joined IPAW in September 2019. As the Program Assistant, Chrissy performs several tasks: she maintains the membership database; does the layout for, edits the articles for, and emails the quarterly newsletter, “Plants Out of Place;” and works on invasive education outreach through social media (don’t forget to Like us on Facebook), takes the minutes of meetings; and (with the tremendous help of Scott) maintains the website. If you email IPAW, she is the one who will respond to you or will forward your email on to the appropriate person. Chrissy is also a graduate student at UW-Green Bay and is currently studying and writing a management plan for the European marsh thistle. In her free time she enjoys kayaking, camping, and hiking–especially on the Ice Age Trail. Chrissy’s first job after completing her undergraduate degree was working on lakes and she loves spending time near water and exploring the native aquatic and wetland vegetation.

And, Most Importantly, You!

You can help to prevent the spread of invasive plants! You can start right now by joining us as a member or giving a monetary donation.

You are donating to : The Invasive Plants Association of Wisconsin, a non-profit organization, making your donation tax deductible.

How much would you like to donate?
$10 $50 $100
Would you like to make regular donations? I would like to make donation(s)
How many times would you like this to recur? (including this payment) *
Name *
Last Name *
Email *
Additional Note